ISPS 2011

Toronto | Canada
24 | 27 August 2011

Convened by
Faculty of Music
University of Toronto

Centre for Performance Science
Royal College of Music, London


Download the ISPS 2011 program, including the conference schedule and abstracts booklet.
ISPS 2011 Program PDF (637 KB)

Keynote speakers

Roger Chaffin, University of Connecticut
Thinking about performance: Memory, attention, and practice

Roger Kneebone, Imperial College London
The art, science, and simulation of performance

Don McLean, University of Toronto
Science in the concert hall? Music in the lab? Perspectives on the role of research in higher music education

Virginia Wilmerding, University of New Mexico
Dance pedagogy: Myth versus reality

Graduate award

Colleen Skull, University of Toronto
Sustained excellence: Toward a model of factors sustaining elite performance in opera


Faculty of Music,
University of Toronto

The University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music is one of North America’s leading centres for music education and professional training. Situated on the University‘s St George Campus, next to the Royal Ontario Museum, the Faculty houses a superb recital hall and opera theatre, in addition to state-of-the-art music studios and a library with over 250,000 volumes and 160,000 recordings.

The Faculty boasts an enviable track record for fostering musical talent and has trained performers, composers, educators, and scholars for leading careers in arts and educational organizations worldwide. Faculty members regularly win prestigious performing arts awards and top-ranked competitive research grants, and based on publications and citations, the University of Toronto leads Canadian research universities in music and fine arts.

See for further information.

Toronto | Canada

For information on Toronto’s history, sights, and attractions, see


Proceedings of the International Symposium on Performance Science 2011, edited by Aaron Williamon, Darryl Edwards, and Lee Bartel, published by the European Association of Conservatoires (AEC), Utrecht, The Netherlands. ISBN 9789490306021.

Proceedings of ISPS 2011 (18.7 MB)


Aaron Williamon, co-chair
Royal College of Music, London (UK)

Darryl Edwards, co-chair
University of Toronto (Canada)

Lee Bartel, co-chair
University of Toronto (Canada)

Daniela Coimbra
Superior School of Music and Performing Arts, Porto Polytechnic Institute (Portugal)

Dianne Edwards
University of Toronto (Canada)

Hubert Eiholzer
Conservatory of Southern Switzerland (Switzerland)

Dorottya Fabian
University of New South Wales (Australia)

Philip Fine
University of Buckingham (UK)

Cristina Gerling
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Werner Goebl
University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna (Austria)

Jane Ginsborg
Royal Northern College of Music (UK)

Cecilia Hultberg
Royal College of Music, Stockholm (Sweden)

Emma Redding
Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance (UK)

Frank Russo
Ryerson University (Canada)

Olivier Senn
Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (Switzerland)

Start typing and press Enter to search