ISPS 2017

Reykjavík | Iceland
August 30 | 02 September 2017

Convened by
Research and Innovation
Iceland Academy of the Arts

Centre for Performance Science
Royal College of Music | Imperial College London


Download the Abstracts of ISPS 2017, including the conference schedule.
Abstracts of ISPS 2017 (1.8 MB)

Keynote speakers

Hilmar Bragi Janusson, University of Iceland
Asymmetry and symmetry of arts and science

Reinhard Kopiez, Hanover University of Music, Drama, and Media
The audio-visual music performer: Intermodal interactions in evaluation processes

Alison McGregor, Imperial College London
Enhancing sports performance: A biomechanical approach

Steven Schlozman, Harvard University
If medicine is a performance, then who is the audience? How modern medicine can be cured by studying performance

Graduate award (paper)

Sara Ascenso, Royal College of Music
Mind the mind: A profile of mental health in the performing arts

Graduate award (poster)

George Waddell, Royal College of Music
Time to decide: Designing a simulated evaluation platform



Harpa is one of Reykjavík’s greatest and distinguished landmarks. It is a cultural and social centre in the heart of the city and features stunning views of the surrounding mountains and the North Atlantic Ocean. 

Harpa is an enchanting destination for travellers and its grand-scale award-winning architecture has attracted 7 million guests since its opening on 4 May 2011. See for further information.

Reykjavík | Iceland 

For information on Reykjavík’s history, sights, and attractions, see


Aaron Williamon, co-chair
Royal College of Music, London (UK)

Pétur Jónasson, co-chair
Iceland Academy of the Arts (Iceland)

Mayumi Adachi
Hokkaido University (Japan)

Einar Torfi Einarsson
Iceland Academy of the Arts (Iceland)

Daisy Fancourt
Royal College of Music (UK)

Werner Goebl
University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna (Austria)

Helga Rut Guðmundsdóttir
University of Iceland (Iceland)

Roger Kneebone
Imperial College London (UK)

Steinunn Knútsdóttir
Iceland Academy of the Arts (Iceland)

Jennifer MacRitchie
Western Sydney University (Australia)

Gary McPherson
University of Melbourne (Australia)

Masanobu Miura
Hachinohe Institute of Technology (Japan)

Laura Stambaugh
Georgia Southern University (USA)

Johannella Tafuri
Conservatory of Bologna (Italy)

Kristín Valsdóttir
Iceland Academy of the Arts (Iceland)

David Wasley
Cardiff Metropolitan University (UK)

Start typing and press Enter to search